Bubbles bursting in slow motion

The famous slow-mo guys made a video these days about bursting soap bubbles. It’s really nice to see those bubbles disintegrating in slow motion, as the front of disintegration shows a wave-like behavior. Around the end of the video they try to drop a bullet through the bubble and check whether it’s faster then the popping of the bubble. I have never thought that watching a slow-mo video like this will get me this interested, but I really wonder: what is the velocity of bubble disintegration? We know already that bubbles can be built up, because of surface tension, but how is it the other way around? What is the mechanism as they are destroyed? Are there any studies on bubble dynamics? Is there a science at all, which is called bubble dynamics? Good questions… that I will try to answer in the next days – I just have to make through my last exams.

[Via io9.com]

Leave a comment